HOOK AND A BOOK REVIEW

I own a set of Clover Soft Touch Crochet hooks and I love them.  So, when these new crochet hooks from Clover arrived in the store I was surprised because I didn’t think that Clover could better the Soft Touch hooks. Boy, was I wrong!

Waiting for my crochet students to arrive, I picked up one of our books, ‘Amineko’, the Story of a Crafty Crochet Cat. A couple of pages into the book and I was smitten. I just had to make one. Actually, that’s not true, I just had to make them all, was my initial reaction.

After my class I picked up Amineko and a 3.25mm Clover Amour Crochet Hook. My week end was organised. Result: A hook and a book review…

Clover Amour Crochet Hooks

The Hook:

The working hook part is exactly the same shape as the soft touch crochet hook. It is also smooth and easy to work into the stitches. The shank is about 3mm longer. It feels a little lighter than the Soft Touch hook. The colour coded handles are fun and make it easy to identify hook sizes. We have sizes starting at 2.25mm to 6.00mm with 3.00mm mysteriously missing. Maybe the supplier was out of stock. I’m not surprised! Above all, however, the one thing about the new Amour Crochet Hook that will get you hooked, pardon the corny pun, is the handle. It is just a tiny bit longer than the soft touch. It is soft, rubbery and slightly squishy. I was working an Amigurumi project for the review and I found that my hands did not get as tired.

 

The Book:

Hello My Name is Amineko. The Story of a Crafty Crochet Cat by Nekoyama.

It’s a storybook and a project book. Amineko, to say the least, is a cat with attitude. It’s well worth reading the story that comes before the instructions. You will fall in love with him! He is crochet in the Amigurumi style of crochet. I used Morris and Sons 8 ply Estate and a 3.25mm Amour Crochet Hook. The translation of the instructions is a little different to regular Amigurumi pattern instructions but not so as to put you off completing the project. The images in the instruction section of the book are so good it makes up for the unusual pattern writing style. As I said before, you’re in love with this cat. He has to be made.

And on that note, we are running Amigurumi classes in our Melbourne and Sydney stores. Check out our website for dates and times. Come and join us and make your own Amineko!

Happy crocheting,

Judith

2 thoughts on “HOOK AND A BOOK REVIEW

  1. I’ve been trying to buy myself a set of those hooks (after I bought one and loved it), but my local M&S is cleaned out! I guess everyone else loves them too. :)

Leave a Reply

